Feeling as empty as my Closet: ‘Outing’ Post-Coming out Depression

(Google Images)

One subject that exists in the shadows of publicised LGBT issues is post-coming out depression. Perhaps, just like any other form of depression, it is thought that, by simply accepting its existence tempts the Gods to inflict you with it like a curse. However, the truth is with nearly a fifth of adults in the UK suffering from some form of anxiety or depression, it is a common mental illness that can be helped if we stop the stigma that is put upon it. If we did, the depression some feel after coming out might be better known.

It is always suggested by everyone that by coming out to your friends, family and colleagues you will feel a huge weight lifted off your shoulders and I do not disagree with that but nobody mentions how you might also feel after. Coming out is a big change as well as an important writ of passage so it would be glib to suggest people won’t feel a little odd afterwards and this ‘oddness’ might cause them to become depressed. I for one naively believed that by coming out, my life would alter completely; I believed that I would instantly find a man with a body that would make Adonis jealous, I’d automatically be more funny, witty and confident in myself and I would be hosting wild soirees surrounded by other immediate gay and lesbian friends. Obviously this was not the case.

Despite the amazing support I received from everyone I told, I felt like my life was lacking something. Nothing had drastically changed and life continued the way it always had other than the sense of freedom I had gained from escaping the closet door. Yet, it was this freedom that had made me depressed. By being honest about my sexuality I had opened up the flood gates into a much more authentic yet vulnerable world that felt too vast compared to the safe bubble I had now physically popped with three words; ‘I like guys’. Since my expectations of coming out had been too high I started to see myself as a failure.  I entered a rather distressing state which led me to a place I would not wish upon anyone. I could not understand why, after coming out, I was still single. I had significantly altered my life yet still felt alone. Luckily, I found help before it was too late but it is saddening to know that others have taken their own lives because of the same problem.

I cannot express how important it is to know that although coming out is a major stepping stone to a better future for homosexuals and bisexuals; it is not an automatic change. Although not everyone will suffer from post-coming out depression, there is a small chance that someone will. Since coming out is such a big deal, after it has happened, there is a void where so much worry and stress had been and it can be filled with a sense of nothingness. You are not alone, let things come at their own time and the emptiness of closet with you outside it will fill once more with a sense of belonging and happiness as you adapt to your new surroundings as an openly gay man or woman. It might not lead to a new you but an honest you.

2 Comments

  1. I honestly don’t know how anyone can find the confidence to come out. I’m sitting here thinking, ‘hell, I’d be well into my forties before my parents even got a clue!’ I’ve only come out to one of my friends and I was so nervous that I started profusely sweating. Maybe if I ever got a girlfriend I’d tell them… Maybe…

    • It truly is a personal decision which will never be an easy choice to make – I see it like ripping a plaster off; no one can be 100% certain how others will react. It is up to you when you feel comfortable enough to tell people – be it years apart from one another or sitting your entire loved ones in one room and blurting it out. The story which made me realise how glad I was to be able to tell my family was Sir Ian McKellan’s when he visited my school to discuss Stonewall – after both his parents passed away he regretted the missed opportunity to be honest about his sexuality with them.

      I suppose what I am saying is I hope you find the confidence to come out in your own time!

Leave a Reply

