The Unbearable Bearable

The Bee's Knees

“I have not broken your heart—you have broken it; and in breaking it, you have broken mine.” – Wuthering Heights

My head was full of Buffy quotes as I typed.

“No more listening,” I wanted to recite, in the voice of Andrew. “I know who you are now. I know what you made me do. Your promises of happy fields and dancing schnauzers and being demigods won’t work on me anymore.”

It’s a fascinating thing, progressing into your adult years; all the clichés they sing about – heartbreak and confusion – are mostly true. Through an amount of tears I couldn’t have imagined I had stored behind my eyes, I spared a moment for the irony that breaking up does actually feel like your heart is breaking. A few weeks ago, I’d have said I don’t give a sugar for what one ‘should’ do; when you’re in the throes of something…

View original post 485 more words

Leave a Reply

